Violence and structural HIV risk to sex workers

Event Details

Violence and structural HIV risk to sex workers

Time: August 19, 2015 from 2pm to 3pm
Location: Online
Event Type: webinar, 19, august, 2015, 2pm, bst
Organized By: STRIVE Learning Labs
Latest Activity: Aug 20, 2015

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

Sex workers are a key risk population for HIV. International recognition of the structural drivers of their risk, including gender-based violence (GBV), is mounting. Join this webinar to:

  1. learn more about the prevalence and health impact of violence among sex workers
  2. understand the unique ways in which violence, its health impact, and access to justice are experienced in this population
  3. discuss ways to incorporate prevention and support within HIV programming – even where sex work is criminalised
Dr Michele Decker is an Associate Professor of Population, Family & Reproductive Health at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, where she directs the Women’s Health & Rights Program of the Center for Public Health & Human Rights. Her research areas include GBV and other structural determinants of HIV risk, and sexual and reproductive health among adolescent and young adult women. She is currently evaluating a brief, trauma-informed, violence support intervention for street-based sex workers that was developed through a community-based participatory process. 

9:00am Washington DC

2:00pm London
3:00pm Geneva
3:00pm 
Johannesburg
4:00pm Kampala/Mwanza

6:30pm New Delhi/Bangalore

To take part in this month’s Learning Lab, register here.

Comment Wall

Add a Comment

RSVP for Violence and structural HIV risk to sex workers to add comments!

Join Gender and Evaluation

Attending (17)

© 2019   Created by Rituu B Nanda.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service