Gender & Eval Community- Year of Evaluation'2015

Marco Segone, A K Shiva Kumar & Yamini Atmavilas in front of the Gender & Evaluation community poster in Jan 2015- first event in the Year of Evaluation held in Delhi.

Webinar: Structural interventions for young people

Event Details

Webinar: Structural interventions for young people

Time: May 5, 2015 from 12pm to 7pm
Location: Online Online 5 May 2015, 12pm noon GMT
Event Type: webinar
Organized By: Strive Learning Labs
Latest Activity: Apr 23, 2015

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

Many young people live in urban informal settlements. These sites face huge health challenges, including HIV and violence, and so it is difficult to intervene there. A structural, participatory approach, Stepping Stones and Creating Futures, works with young people in such settlements in South Africa to transform gender norms and strengthen livelihoods in order to reduce violence and HIV risk.
 
This webinar provides an overview of the Stepping Stones and Creating Futures intervention, the outcomes of the pilot and the challenges of implementing it in difficult circumstances. Andy Gibbs opens a discussion on how we can strengthen the outcomes of such programmes in the future. Andrew Gibbs is a researcher at the Health Economics and HIV/AIDS Research Division (HEARD) at the University of KwaZulu-Natal. 

 the time of the Learning Lab will be:

7:00am Washington DC
12:00pm London
1:00pm Geneva
1:00pm Johannesburg
2:00pm Kampala/Mwanza
4:30pm New Delhi/Bangalore

To take part in this month’s Learning Lab, register here. There are THREE STEPS involved in participation.

1. Register online now, you will then receive an email reminding you of the access code and toll-free numbers to dial.

2. Log in to Ready Talk as a participant shortly before the presentation begins, so you can see the slides. Use access code 9272774.

3. Dial in to Ready Talk on your telephone shortly before the presentation begins, so you can hear the presenter speaking. Use access code 9272774.

Remember, you must call in AND join online to hear audio and view the slides. Other toll-free numbers are available here. See your confirmation email for the link. Alternatively, dial the US toll-free number from Skype:866.740.1260. Please send any other enquiries to Michelle [dot] Moore [at] LSHTM [dot] ac [dot] uk by Friday 1 May 2015.

Comment Wall

Add a Comment

RSVP for Webinar: Structural interventions for young people to add comments!

Join Gender and Evaluation

Attending (1)

© 2021   Created by Rituu B Nanda.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service