Migration and HIV: linkages and responses

Event Details

Migration and HIV: linkages and responses

Time: February 3, 2015 from 12pm to 1pm
Location: Online 3 February 2015, 12pm noon GMT
Event Type: webinar
Organized By: STRIVE Research Programme Consortium
Latest Activity: Feb 3, 2015

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

3 February 2015, 12pm noon GMT

Population mobility is increasingly recognised as a central determinant of health, yet public health responses fail to engage with migration. This is especially true when thinking about HIV prevention and treatment programmes.

This webinar:

  • explores the relationship between migration and HIV
  • suggests ways to improve responses
  • proposes methods for measuring population movements in formative and evaluation research

With a commitment to social justice and the development of pro-poor policy responses, Jo Vearey's research explores international, regional, national and local responses to migration, health and urban vulnerabilities. Jo is interested in urban health, public health, migration and health, the social determinants of health, HIV, sex work and local level responses. She is a Senior Researcher with the African Centre for Migration and Society, University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa. 

RESOURCES

TAKE PART IN THIS MONTH’S LEARNING LAB

Depending on your location, the time of the Learning Lab will be:

7:00am Washington DC
12:00pm London
1:00pm Geneva
2:00pm 
Johannesburg
3:00pm Kampala/Mwanza

5:30pm New Delhi/Bangalore

To take part in this month’s Learning Lab, register here.

Comment Wall

Add a Comment

RSVP for Migration and HIV: linkages and responses to add comments!

Join Gender and Evaluation

Attending (1)

© 2019   Created by Rituu B Nanda.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service